Thursday January 23, 2020
Hours 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M. Monday - Friday


Vehicle Renewals for those people with their last name starting with A or B are due by January 31st.

The Davison Co. Courthouse will be closed on Monday, January 20th in Honor of Martin Luther King Day.


Weed Department


Gregory Geppert-Temporary

Weed Department


Office 1 Phone: (605) 995-8625
Office 2 Phone: (605) 995-8826
Cell Phone: (605) 999-2522
Fax: (605) 995-8624

 Mailing Address:
Davison County Highway Department
1224 West 5th Avenue
Mitchell, SD  57301


Office Hours

7:00 am to 5:30 pm (summer – Memorial Day to Labor Day)


The Weed Department is responsible for weed control on all county properties located outside the corporate limits of any municipalities. The Weed Department maintains the appropriate weed control equipment and chemicals. The Supervisor also maintains records of weed and pest infestations, as well as control measures taken. The Weed Supervisor obtains bids for appropriate chemicals and equipment for weed control.

The Weed Department controls weeds on township and railroad property when such entities request it. The Weed Department also bills out all work done for other entities to the appropriate entity on a timely basis. The Supervisor is responsible to take the appropriate measures to control nuisance weeds on private property in accordance with state statute. He is also responsible for the record keeping and appropriate billing.

The Supervisor prepares publications and interviews for additional personnel for weed spraying during peak season.

To find out more about Weed Notices, click on:  Controlling noxious weeds

To find out what is on the next Weed Meeting agenda, click on:

List of state and local noxious weeds

The Davison County Weed Department is once again joining with Hanson County to have our annual public relations meeting scheduled for March 28th, 2018 at Pizza Ranch in Mitchell. Registration will begin at 10:00 a.m. and a FREE noon meal to follow. Please call ahead of time to pre-register!

The Davison County Weed Board:

Brian Bode December 31, 2018 (President)
Ray Hanson: December 31, 2019
Wayne Lyons December 31, 2016 (Vice-President)
Steve Roth December 31, 2016
Brenda Bode Appointed Yearly as County Commissioner Representative

To access the 2-27-2018 Township Board Member Presentation, click on Township Presentation-Highway & Weed Department

Township Weed Board Members:

Joe Brtna Badger Twp
Lyle Reimnitz Baker Twp
Steve Deurmier Beulah Twp
Rod Muhs Blendon Twp
Larry Olsen Lisbon Twp
Ron Baker Mt Vernon Twp
Wayne Lyons Perry Twp
Wade Strand Prosper Twp
Ila Rumbolz Rome Twp
Ray Hanson Tobin Twp
Gerald Welch Union Twp


Other Helpful Links:


Contact Us

emailDavison County Weed Department
1224 West 5th Ave.
Mitchell, SD 57301


Phone: 605-995-8625
2nd Line: 605-995-8626
Fax: 605-995-8624