April 20, 2024

Weed Department Legal Notices


Davison County will be spraying County and Township Roads in Davison County for weed control beginning approximately the 1st day of May 2014. Anyone person having shrubs, trees, and/or gardens that could be injured or harmed should place a WHITE FLAG on the fence line, or in the center of the ditch at each end of the area to be bypassed by the sprayer. Please mark with a WHITE FLAG, in the ditches and rights-of-way, the following NOXIOUS WEEDS: Leafy Spurge, Canada Thistle, Perennial Sow Thistle, Hoary Cress, Russian Knapweed, Purple Loosestrife, Salt Cedar, Musk Thistle, Bull Thistle, Plumeless Thistle, Wormwood Sage (Absinth Wormwood), Yellow Toadflax. Persons are encouraged to mark the foregoing listed noxious weeds growing in the ditches and rights-of-way for spot spraying in the spring and fall.
Marking flags should be large enough, preferably twelve (12) inches square, so they are easily visible from the road.
If persons do not want the roads adjoining their property sprayed and choose to mow or control the trees and all noxious weeds themselves or persons who do not want the ditches sprayed because grasses are used for agricultural feed stuffs or hay, they must come to the Davison County Weed Office, 1224 West 5th Avenue, Mitchell, South Dakota and sign a


The chemicals used to control noxious weeds in the rights-of-way may have haying and grazing restrictions.
Persons needing assistance or that have questions concerning noxious weed control should contact Weed Supervisor, Clayton Wells, at 605-995-8625.


NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN this 1st day of April 2014 pursuant to SDCL 38-22 as amended to all owners, occupants, agents and public officials in charge of lands in Davison County, South Dakota, that they are responsible for the suppression, control, and eradication of noxious weed and declared pest infestations that may exist on such lands.
Chemical biological and/or cultural control methods used for the suppression, control, and eradication of noxious weed and declared pest infestations shall be those approved for such purposes by the Davison County Weed and Pest Supervisor, South Dakota State University Experiment Station.

Upon failure to observe this notice, the county weed and pest board is required to proceed pursuant to the law and have the noxious weeds or declared pests destroyed by such methods as they may find necessary, the expense of which shall constitute a lien and be entered as a tax against the land, and be collected as other real estate taxes are collected, or by other means as provided by law.
Plants and animals designated as being noxious weeds and declared pests in the State of South Dakota are Leafy Spurge, Canada thistle, Perennial Sow Thistle, Hoary Cress, Russian Knapweed, Purple Loosestrife, Salt Cedar and Gypsy Moth.

In addition, Absinth Wormwood (Wormwood Sage), Musk Thistle, Bull Thistle and Plumeless Thistle and Yellow Toadflax have been approved by the State Weed and Pest Control Commission as locally noxious weeds and declared pests for Davison County and are subject to the same suppression, control, and eradication requirements as the before mentioned plants and animals.

NOTICE IS HEREBY GIVEN that upon establishing probable cause to believe a noxious weed or declared pest infestation exists upon any property in Davison County, a representative of the Davison County Weed and Pest Control Board will enter upon said property for the purpose of inspecting and confirming that such infestation actually exists.