PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES January 4, 2022

- 1. Deputy Wegleitner called the meeting to order at 1:15 P.M.
- 2. Roll Call-quorum is met, simple majority vote required for all items.
 - Present: Bruce Haines, Steve Thiesse, Lewis Bainbridge, Charles Storm, Brenda Bode, Kim Weitala, Dave Anderson, & Karen Wegleitner
 - Absent: Jeff Bathke.
 - Guests: Ronald Anderson.
- 3. Election of 2022 Planning Commission Officers.
 - Deputy Wegleitner called for nominations of Chairperson. Brenda Bode nominated Bruce Haines, Kim Weitala second the nomination. Brenda Bode called to cease nominations and cast a unanimous vote, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge. Hearing no other nominations, Bruce Haines was unanimously voted as Chairperson.
 - Deputy Wegleitner called for nominations of Vice Chairperson. Kim Weitala nominated Steve Thiesse, Brenda Bode second the nomination. Kim Weitala called to cease nominations and cast a unanimous vote, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge. Hearing no other nominations, Steve Thiesse was unanimously voted as Vice Chairperson.
- 4. Consider the amended agenda.
 - Motion by Kim Weitala, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge, to approve the amended agenda. All members voted aye, motion carried.
- 5. Declare conflicts of interest. Hearing none, the meeting continued.
- 6. Consider the previous minutes. Commissioner Anderson requested the previous minutes reflect a motion to withdraw the Conditional Use application by Jason Nedved, as he felt it was not needed, but died for lack of second. Commissioner Anderson would like the noise comment to be removed, as he doesn't remember it being talked about.
 - Motion by Dave Anderson, seconded by Charles Storm, to approve the December 7, 2021 amended minutes. All members voted aye, motion carried
- 7. Public input for items not on the agenda. Ronald Anderson was present to address his concerns about a porta-pot business being operated by one of his neighbors. Planning & Zoning was asked to look into.
- 8. Consider a variance of +/- 15 acres, creating a lot size of +/- 10 acres, where the minimum lot size is 25 acres for a residence in the Agricultural Residential District.; at the request of Brian Hohn. This request is located in N1/2 of NE1/4, lying West of the James River of Section 13, T 103N, R 60 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota.
 - Deputy Adminstrator Wegleitner gave an explanation of the Variance Application. The applicant was not present to answer questions.
 - Discussion included about the bank wanting 10 acres or less to receive financing.
 - Ronald Anderson was present to address his concerns about the land being developed. Hohn must drive through Anderson's property to access his property. Anderson is fine with giving him an easement, if Hohn doesn't develop the land. It was stated the easement issue is between Anderson and Hohn.
 - Discussion of putting in a new road for Hohn to be off Anderson's property. Would be a township issue and would need approval.
 - Motion by Kim Weitala, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge, to recommend approval of the Variance to the Board of Adjustment. Roll call vote:

Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – aye, Anderson – aye, motion carried.

- Consider a Plat of Lot 1 of Fallen Tree Addition, in the N1/2 of the NE1/4, lying west of the James River, in Section 13, T 103 N, R 60, West of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota. This request is located in N1/2 of NE1/4 of Section 13, T 103N, R 60 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota.
 - Deputy Adminstrator Wegleitner gave an explanation of the Plat Proposal. The applicant was not present to answer questions. This plat goes with the variance just discussed.
 - Discussion included the easement is needed for the property not to be landlocked.
 - Motion by Kim Weitala, seconded by Dave Anderson, to recommend approval of the Plat to the County Commissioners. Roll call vote: Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – aye, Anderson – aye, motion carried.
- 10. Additional Comments from the Group
 - None
- 11. Set date and time for next meeting February 1, 2022 @ 1:15 P.M.
- 12. At 2:11 P.M., a motion was made by Brenda Bode, seconded by Bruce Haines, to adjourn the meeting. All members voted aye, motion carried.

Bruce Haines Planning Commission Chairperson

Karen Wegleitner

Karen Wegleitner Deputy Director of Planning & Zoning