



200 E. 4th Ave. Mitchell, SD 57301-2631 Phone (605) 995-8615 Fax (605) 995-8642



PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES

August 4, 2020

- 1. Chairperson Haines called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.
- 2. Roll Call-quorum is met, simple majority vote required for all items.
 - Present: Bruce Haines, Steve Thiesse, Charles Storm, Dave Anderson, Kim Weitala, Brenda Bode, Lewis Bainbridge, Mark Jenniges.
 - Absent: Jeff Bathke.
 - Guests: Janet & Denny Everson.
- 3. Consider the amended agenda.
 - Motion by Kim Weitala, seconded by Dave Anderson, to approve the amended agenda. Roll call vote:
 - Haines aye, Thiesse aye, Storm –aye, Bainbridge aye, Bode aye, Weitala aye, Anderson– aye, motion carried.
- 4. Declare conflicts of interest-none.
- Consider the July 7, 2020 Minutes. Motion by Steve Thiesse, seconded by Brenda Bode, to approve the July 7, 2020

proposed minutes. Roll call vote:

```
Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm –aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye,
```

- Weitala aye, Anderson– aye, motion carried.
- 6. Public input for items not on the agenda-none.
- 7. That Bryce & Lisa Havlik have appealed to the Davison County Planning Commission to recommend granting a variance in minimum for lot size of +/- 20 acres to create a lot size of +/- 5 acres, where the minimum is 25 acres in the Agricultural District.
 - This request is in pursuant to Section 307(4) of the Davison County Zoning Ordinance as adopted on 4/1/98 and as subsequently amended. The property will be legally described as Plat of Tract A of Stratton's Addition in the South 940.50' of the SW 1/4 of Section 01, T 103N, R 61 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota. It is currently described as S940.5 ' of the SW 1/4 Ex S537.5 of W433.1' & Except B Havlik Tract 1 of Section 1, T 103 N, R 61 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota.
 - Deputy administrator Jenniges explained the application, required notifications, and the GIS view. Notices were sent out to the neighbors and published in the paper with no responses.
 - The applicant was present to answer questions. Discussion included the applicant is parceling of the 5 acres for their son to build a house on.
 - After consideration of the 1106 B-Variances, a motion by Charles Storm, seconded by Steve Thiesse, to recommend approval of the Variance Permit to the Board of Adjustment. Roll call vote: Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm –aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – aye, Anderson– aye, motion carried.

- Considered a Plat of Tract A of Stratton's Addition in the South 940.50' of the SW 1/4 of Section 1, T 103N, R 61 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota; at the request of Bryce & Lisa Havlik.
 - Deputy administrator Jenniges gave an explanation of the plat.
 - The applicant was present to answer questions. This plat goes along with the variance from item number seven of the agenda.
 - Commissioner Bode explained what and Ag Covenant is to the applicant and that it needs to be filed at the same time as the plat.
 - Motion by Brenda Bode, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge, to recommend approval of the plat to the County Commissioners. Roll call vote: Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – aye, Anderson – aye, motion carried.
- 9. Considered a Plat of Lots 9A and 9B, A Subdivision of Lot 9 of Marsden's Addition in the South 1/2 of the NW 1/4 and the SW 1/4 of the NE 1/4 of Section 5, T 103N, R 60 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota; at the request of Janet Everson.
 - Deputy administrator Jenniges gave an explanation of the plat.
 - The applicant was present to answer questions. This is located in the ETJ. The applicant is splitting their parcel into two. They are selling off Lot 9B and retaining Lot 9A. A new approach will be installed off of W Harmon Drive for 9A. This is located within the ETJ, city planning will hear it next week.
 - Motion by Lewis Bainbridge, seconded by Charles Storm, to recommend approval of the plat to the County Commissioners. Roll call vote: Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – aye, Anderson – aye, motion carried.
- Considered a Lots 1-5, Kirkegaard Addition in the SE 1/4 of the SW 1/4 of the SE 1/4 of Section 3, T 103N, R 60 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota; at the request of EZ Green Acres LLC.
 - Deputy administrator Jenniges gave an explanation of the plat.
 - The applicant was present to answer questions. This is located within the ETJ. The City of Mitchell has already approved this plat.
 - Discussion on keeping Kirkegaard Place a private road was held and what the correct addresses will be for those lots. The intend of the applicant was to have a private road/driveway but by having it on the plat it could become public. County Planning and Zoning will look into for answers prior to County Commission the following week.
 - Motion by Dave Anderson, seconded by Brenda Bode, to recommend approval of the plat to the County Commissioners. Roll call vote: Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – aye, Anderson – aye, motion carried.

10A. Consider a Plat of Lot 1 of Debra Kaye's First Addition in the NE ¹/₄ of Section 9, T 101N, R 62 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota; at the request of David Nebelsick.

- Deputy administrator Jenniges gave an explanation of the plat.
- The applicant was not present to answer questions. David is parcelling the acres for his son to build a house on. It is over the 25 acres so no variance is required.

- Motion by Dave Anderson, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge, to recommend approval of the plat to the County Commissioners. Roll call vote: Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – aye, Anderson – aye, motion carried.
- 11. Additional Comments from the Group.
 - Planning & Zoning presented a list of possible zoning ordinance changes, they will continue to work on them.
- 12. Set date and time for next meeting September 1, 2020 @ 7:00 P.M.
- 13. At 8:05 P.M., a motion by Brenda Bode seconded by Kim Weitala to adjourn the meeting. All members voted aye, motion carried.

Bruce Haines Planning Commission Chairperson

Marts gennizes

Mark Jenniges Deputy Director of Planning & Zoning