Davison County Planning & Zoning and Emergency Management 200 E. 4th Ave.

Mitchell, SD 57301-2631 Phone (605) 995-8615 Fax (605) 995-8642



PLANNING COMMISSION MINUTES January 7, 2020

- 1. Deputy Administrator Jenniges called the meeting to order at 1:15 P.M.
- 2. Roll Call
 - Present: Bruce Haines, Steve Thiesse, Charles Storm, Dave Anderson Brenda Bode, Lewis Bainbridge, Mark Jenniges.
 - Absent: Kim Weitala, Jeff Bathke
 - Guests:
- 3. Election of 2020 Planning Commission Officers.
 - Deputy Jenniges called for nominations of Chairperson. Brenda Bode nominated Bruce Haines, Lewis Bainbridge seconded the nomination. Steve Thiesse called to cease nominations and cast a unanimous vote, seconded by Charles Storm. Hearing no other nominations, Bruce Haines was unanimously voted as Chairperson.
 - Deputy Jenniges called for nominations of Vice Chairperson. Brenda Bode nominated Steve Thiesse, Lewis Bainbridge seconded the nomination.
 Steve Thiesse called to cease nominations and cast a unanimous vote, seconded by Charles Storm. Hearing no further nominations, Steve Thiesse was unanimously voted as Vice Chairperson.
- 4. Consider the proposed agenda.
 - Motion by Dave Anderson, seconded by Steve Thiesse, to approve the proposed agenda. All members voted aye, motion carried.
- 5. Declare conflicts of interest-none.
- 6. Consider the December 3, 2019 Minutes.
 - Motion by Brenda Bode, seconded by Lewis Bainbridge, to approve the December 3, 2019 proposed minutes. All members voted aye, motion carried.
- 7. Public input-none.
- 8. Considered a Tract 1 of Dikoff Subdivision in the North 1/2 of the Northeast 1/4 of Section 16, T 103N, R 61 W of the 5th P.M., Davison County, South Dakota; at the request of Todd Dikoff.
 - Deputy administrator Jenniges gave an explanation of the plat.
 - The applicant was not present to answer questions. Todd's land is currently described by measurements and cannot obtain a building permit. He purchased the 25 acres by measurements when landowners were still "grandfathered" in, but since the zoning ordinance was amended in 2017 there is no "grandfather" clause for building permits anymore.
 - Motion by Brenda Bode, seconded by Steve Thiesse, to recommend approval of the plat to the County Commissioners. Roll call vote: Haines – aye, Thiesse – aye, Storm – aye, Bainbridge – aye, Bode – aye, Weitala – absent, Anderson – aye, motion carried.
- 9. Additional Comments from the Group.

- 10. Set date and time for next meeting Feb 4, 2020 @ 1:15 P.M.
- 11. At 1:48 P.M., a motion by Brenda Bode seconded by Lewis Bainbridge to adjourn the meeting. All members voted aye, motion carried.

Bruce Haines

Planning Commission Chairperson

Marks Jenniges

Mark Jenniges

Deputy Director of Planning & Zoning